Anchor Award

We power the tunes that move millions of us every day. Design and production of two shows at the Reeperbahn Festival

Pop culture. Music. A universal language that can change the world with riffs, beats and lyrics. On a small and large scale. What other art form always manages to deliver the perfect soundtrack to every imaginable situation in life? Whether we are wearily switching on the radio in the morning or out on the town looking for some nocturnal adventure: music is always with us. 

Music moves us. In September, CB.e had the privilege of moving the international music industry and its fans.

Review: In mid-July, we received an inquiry from Hamburg. The concert agency Neuland Concerts had been asked to realise the global premiere of an international music award as part of the Reeperbahn Festival. They, in turn, asked us if we would like to design this grand event together with them – from the idea down to the final implementation. A name had been chosen already: Anchor 2016.

We’d be thrilled! There’s just one thing... The Reeperbahn Festival is on 21–24 September. The same days pencilled in for the two Anchor events. Eight weeks. Eight weeks until the first Anchor Award would be handed to its deserving winner. Still up for it? It’s quite a task... YES. Again, YES!

We spent eight weeks immersing ourselves in the extraordinary concept of the Reeperbahn Festival, the music industry and 60 years of pop culture. CB.e has developed a range of show concepts for the event and the award ceremony. They are based on each other, yet wildly different. We shaped the corporate language for the video formats and developed the tonality, script and all content of the award ceremony with Neuland Concerts.

Our task was to create an emotional show with an international character that would stand out from conventional award ceremonies. Our key message: music is everything. All artists, managers and listeners share one experience. All of us have fallen in love with a song or a beat in the past. For many of us, this love affair lasts for a lifetime: music is an ubiquitous and important part of all our life stories. it is the backdrop to important developmental milestones and has the power to evoke beautiful memories and associations. This notion was a central element of the opening event and the main show, which lasted around 75 minutes.

Yes, we designed and produced not one but two shows over the course of eight weeks. We also worked intensively with our colleagues from Neuland Concerts and Inferno Events, the producers of the Reeperbahn Festival. It was an exciting time.
The feedback was overwhelmingly positive. Enthusiastic voices from the Hamburg culture scene and political sphere agreed: Anchor 2016 hit the spot. It worked, and it was a great world debut. Thank you.

We can’t wait for Anchor 2017.

Anchor Award

Wir bewegen was Millionen Menschen täglich bewegt: Konzeption und Inszenierung von zwei Shows beim Reeperbahnfestival

Popkultur. Musik. Universelle Sprache, die durch Riffs, Beats und Lyrics die Welt verändern kann. Im Kleinen und im Großen. Welche Kunstform schafft es sonst, uns in jeder erdenklichen Lebenslage den passenden Soundtrack zu liefern? Ob wir morgens müde das Radio anschalten oder ob wir abends auf der Suche nach einem nächtlichen Abenteuer sind, Musik ist Weggefährte unseres Lebens. 

Musik bewegt. Und CB.e durfte im September die internationale Musikbranche und Fans bewegen.

Rückblick: Mitte Juli erreichte uns eine Anfrage aus Hamburg. Die Konzertagentur Neuland Concerts hatte den Auftrag erhalten, die Weltpremiere eines internationalen Musik-Awards im Rahmen des Reeperbahn Festivals umzusetzen. Sie fragten uns, ob wir nicht Lust hätten, diese Weltpremiere des Musik-Awards von der Konzeptidee bis zur Umsetzung gemeinsam mit ihnen zu gestalten? Bisher steht der Name: Anchor 2016.

JA, wir haben Lust! Es gibt da nur einen kleinen Haken. Das Reeperbahnfestival findet vom 21. bis 24. September statt. Und am 21. und 24. sind auch die beiden Veranstaltungen zum Anchor geplant. Acht Wochen. Von der Idee bis zur Übergabe des ersten Anchor an den Gewinner. Ob wir immer noch Lust hätten? Und uns das zutrauen würden? Schließlich ist das eine sehr sportive Herausforderung. JA. Und nochmal JA!

In acht Wochen sind wir eingetaucht in das außergewöhnliche Konzept des Reeperbahnfestivals, in die Musikbranche und in 60 Jahre Popkultur. CB.e hat aufeinander aufbauende und dennoch unterschiedliche Showkonzepte für die Vorstellung und die Verleihung des Awards entwickelt. Dabei haben wir sowohl die Markensprache für die Bewegtbild-Formate maßgeblich gestaltet, als auch mit Neuland Concerts Tonalität, Dramaturgie und sämtliche Inhalte der Verleihung entwickelt.

Den Auftrag, eine emotionale Show mit internationalem Charakter und einer Abgrenzung zu gängigen Award Verleihungen zu kreieren, haben wir mit der Kernaussage: „Music is everything“ beantwortet. Egal ob man Künstler, Manager und/oder einfach „nur“ Musikfan ist: Wir alle haben uns irgendwann in unserer Jugend in einen Song oder einen Beat verliebt. Oft hält diese Liebe ein Leben lang, denn Musik ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Lebensläufe, manifestiert Meilensteine in der persönlichen Entwicklung und kann so unglaublich schön und verbindend Erinnerungen hervorrufen. Dieser inszenatorische Gedanke war sowohl in der Auftaktveranstaltung als auch in der rund 75minütigen Show immer wieder zentrales Element.

In acht Wochen haben wir nicht nur zwei Shows konzipieren und inszenieren dürfen. Wir haben auch vor Ort mit den Kollegen von Neuland Concerts und den Machern des Reeperbahnfestivals von Inferno Events intensiv zusammengearbeitet und eine spannende Zeit verbracht.
Das Echo hat uns überwältigt: überschwängliche Kritiken und Lob aus der Hamburger Kultur und Politikszene mit dem Tenor: der Anchor 2016 hat gepasst, war stimmig und eine tolle Weltpremiere. Danke.

Wir freuen uns auf den Anchor 2017.